Official Deville Hompage


When it all came together in 2004 Deville was born after some years of searching. Through a haze of rock, metal and stoner the members have found a way to do something that feels…

The line-up was complete when Åkesson came back from Australia and Hambitzer gave up soulless pop and joined the duo, Andy and Markus. Since the 2004 line-up there have been over 500 gigs and festivals in Sweden,Denmark,Norway,Finland,Germany,the Netherlands,Belgium,Austria,Czech Republic,Bulgaria,Slovakia,Croatia,Switzerland,France,Italy,Lithuania,Portugal,Greece, Spain, U.K, Australia and in the U.S.

The band have during the years shared the stage with Red Fang,Torche,Fu Manchu and Sepultura among other great acts.

Daredevil Records released at the end of 2005 a double feature cd lp with Deville and gothenburgers Sergej the Freak called “Sergej the Freak meets Deville”.

Deville signed to Buzzville Records in 2007 and the first full length album with material recorded during the period -06 and -07 “Come Heavy Sleep” was released in Benelux, december 2007 and in the rest of Europe and the US in the beginning of 2008. “Hail the Black Sky” followed in june 2009 again through Buzzville in Europe and in the US and the touring in Europe continued.

During 2011 and 2012 the album “Hydra” was created and Jan Persson joined the forces on guitar when Martin left after recording the album.This new album was the most intense and elborate so far and received great reviews. In march 2013 “Hydra” was released on Small Stone Records. During the summer Andreas Wulkan (Death Ray Boot etc.) replaced Janne on lead guitar.

Touring continued through 2013 and 2014 in the US and Europe. The work on a new record began and the album “Make It Belong To Us” was recorded summer 2015 again at Sunnanå Studios and produced and mixed by drummer Markus Nilsson. It became a more progressive and metal influenced record but still with the significant hooks and melodies that the band is known for.Released in November 2015 on swedish label Fuzzorama Records.

In 2016 Markus Nilsson and Markus Åkesson decided to leave the band and the new lineup, announced in august, was complete with Martin Nobel on bass, known from bands as Bad Barber, and Martin Fässberg on drums, known from Quit your dayjob, Suma a.o. 

In October 2018 the new release “Pigs With Gods” saw the daylight and is the fifth full length album. It picks up where “Make it belong to us” left off moving in an even more heavy direction straight in direction of metal, leaving the stoner genre behind in favor of a more classic metal sound.
Whilst still being a record containing alot of dynamics ‘Pigs With Gods’ is definitely the bands heaviest effort to date. Band quote : “When we first started writing music for a new album it became evident to all of us that we were quite tired of the traditional doom/stoner genre… It soon became clear that more Metal was what we all wanted! Thus the album was given a very metal feeling…”
Fässberg left in 2019 and was replaced by Michael Ödegården.
In 2020 the band celebrated 15 years as a band and was about to continue to tour the world when it all took another turn as we know. To not totally put everything on hold the only thing the band could do was to start write music and for the first time the band was doing writing on demand. It became a weird, long ride and changed somehow the usual writing process with members writing in different constellations and on their own.The first songs were written without any destined direction or theme so the last ones were more written from a perspective of what the album needed. Having the songs ready in early 2021 ”Heavy Lies The Crown” went through the filter many times more than a Deville record have done before and made the it more diverse than the band maybe expected. There are still the grooves, hooks and heavy riffs that the band is known for but a lot metal and progressive influences also that take some songs in unexpected directions.Everything from sonic journeys to fast heavy rock. What the band does best. When the record was released in September 2022 Wulkan decided to leave the band after nine years and with this, Martin Nobel took over the guitar and Erik Lundow joined the band on bass.
Current line-up is Andreas Bengtsson, vocals/guitar, Michael Ödegården, drums, Martin Nobel, guitar and Erik Lundow, bass.